give the gift of spiked
HOT TOPICS
Follow Spiked
Get The week @ Spiked by email every Friday!
Sign up!

Review of books

January 2015
The truth about the Nazi camp my mum was in
The truth about the Nazi camp my mum was in

Frank Furedi

The truth about the Nazi camp my mum was in

My mother would have recognised but not understood this depiction of Ravensbrück.

January 2015

Review of books

In this month’s spiked review of books, Frank Furedi finds much to ponder in Sarah Helm's account of Ravensbrück, the women-only Nazi concentration camp in which his mother was held; Elsa Makouezi peers into the faithless world of Michel Houellebecq; Alexander Adams investigates the brave but disastrous 1845 Arctic journey of Sir John Franklin; and much more - enjoy!

Review of books

December 2014
Viz - still the biz
Viz - still the biz

Mick Hume

Viz – still the biz

Happy 35th to ‘the shittest magazine in Britain and possibly the world’.

December 2014

Review of books

In this month’s spiked review of books, the brilliant Howard Jacobson ponders the deadly seriousness of comedy, and the eternal return of anti-Semitism; Ann Furedi praises a pro-abortion manifesto from Katha Pollitt; Mick Hume revels in the comic glories of Viz. Plus, spiked writers name their books of the year – enjoy!

Review of books

November 2014
Meet the state-loving libertarian
Meet the state-loving libertarian

Tim Black

Meet the state‑loving libertarian

Shami Chakrabarti’s On Liberty is a libel on John Stuart Mill.

November 2014

Review of books

In this month's spiked review of books, Emily Hill descends into the vagina-gazing world of Lena Dunham; Mick Hume enjoys a vital takedown of the myth of racist Britain; Tim Black struggles through Shami Chakrabarti's On Liberty; and Jon Holbrook explores the judicial assault on democracy... and there's much more besides. Dive in!

Review of books

October 2014
Why it’s bad to be protected from offence
Why it’s bad to be protected from offence

Neil Ross

Why it’s bad to be protected from offence

Greg Lukianoff's Freedom From Speech skewers the idea that we have the right not to be offended.

October 2014

Review of books

In this month's spiked review of books, we take a look at the threat posed by illiberal liberals to our everyday freedoms. Sean Collins praises Joel Kotkin's exposure of the gap between the patronising, know-it-all secular priesthood and the rest of us; Neil Ross enjoys Greg Lukianoff's takedown of those dedicated to protecting students from 'dangerous' speech; Jennie Bristow finds the final part of Ken Follett's twentieth-century trilogy a useful corrective to today's culture of fear... and there's much more besides. Get stuck in!

Review of books

September 2014
Owen Jones: mouthpiece of middle-class moralism
Owen Jones: mouthpiece of middle-class moralism

Brendan O’Neill

Owen Jones: mouthpiece of middle-class moralism

With the bourgeoisie and workers in retreat, a bland new politics is emerging.

September 2014

Review of books

In this month's spiked review of books, we ask some awkward questions about some of the most vaunted authors in Britain today. Mick Hume takes on Nick Davies, acclaimed journalist and the hero of Hackgate; I find myself perplexed by Owen Jones' conspiracist rage against a made-up Establishment; Bruno Waterfield shows why Will Self is not fit to lace George Orwell's boots; and Tim Black peers into Ian McEwan's faith-shaped hole.... And there's much more besides. Enjoy!

Next Page