Mobile version
spiked plus
About spiked
What is spiked?
Support spiked
spiked shop
Contact us
Summer school
Top issues
Arab uprisings
British politics
Child abuse panic
For Europe, Against the EU
Free speech
Jimmy Savile scandal
Parents and kids
View all issues...
special feature
The Counter-Leveson Inquiry
other sections
 Review of Books
 Monthly archive
selected authors
Duleep Allirajah
Daniel Ben-Ami
Tim Black
Jennie Bristow
Sean Collins
Dr Michael Fitzpatrick
Frank Furedi
Helene Guldberg
Patrick Hayes
Mick Hume
Rob Lyons
Brendan O’Neill
Nathalie Rothschild
James Woudhuysen
more authors...
RSS feed
a-b c-d e-h i-l m-n o-r s-u v-z index
Mike Dolan
executive director of the Mobile Operators Association

The next 18 years will see unprecedented innovation in the field of mobile communications technology. A key challenge for society will be to learn to accept and embrace this technological innovation fearlessly as it will bring enormous benefits in every aspect of daily life. Society must assess this technology from an evidence based viewpoint and not be fearful of it simply because it is new and not part of current life experience. Children will grow up with the technology around them from their earliest days and it will underpin much of what they experience and achieve in later life.

Public policy must reflect this learning and any public fear or concern about new communications technology and its necessary infrastructure of base stations must be debated and evaluated across society in an open and transparent way, with evidence-based science underpinning subsequent political decision. This will present key challenges in the way that risks are assessed, managed, and communicated. Government and industry will have key leadership roles to play by ensuring that independent, robust, and timely research is available to inform the debate. Society and the Government must not shrink from these challenges as there will be enormous benefits available by embracing the new mobile communications age.

Survey home
What we found
Survey responses
RSS feed
Anjana Ahuja
Michael Baum
Peter Cochrane
Richard Feachem
Frank Furedi
Michio Kaku
Ken MacLeod
Jonathan Meades
Munira Mirza
Matthew Parris
Ingo Potrykus
Roger Scruton
Ben Shneiderman
Lionel Shriver
Raymond Tallis
Peter Whittle
Josie Appleton
David Baulcombe
Claire Fox
William Higham
Paul Lauterbur
William Graeme Laver
Ken MacLeod
Fiona McEwen
Victor Stenger