Mobile version
spiked plus
About spiked
What is spiked?
Support spiked
spiked shop
Contact us
Summer school
Top issues
Arab uprisings
British politics
Child abuse panic
For Europe, Against the EU
Free speech
Jimmy Savile scandal
Parents and kids
View all issues...
special feature
The Counter-Leveson Inquiry
other sections
 Review of Books
 Monthly archive
selected authors
Duleep Allirajah
Daniel Ben-Ami
Tim Black
Jennie Bristow
Sean Collins
Dr Michael Fitzpatrick
Frank Furedi
Helene Guldberg
Patrick Hayes
Mick Hume
Rob Lyons
Brendan O’Neill
Nathalie Rothschild
James Woudhuysen
more authors...
RSS feed
a-b c-d e-h i-l m-n o-r s-u v-z index
Dr Chris Yapp
head of public sector innovation at Microsoft Corporation

There is a major ‘meta’ problem which is that of governance which impacts on nearly every aspect of modern life.

Progress in information technologies creates new challenges in governance in that networked technologies blur the boundaries within organizations, between organizations and indeed between the local, regional, global and national.

Within technology the role of ICANN and global governance of the internet is an example of such a challenge. The ability to protect children from online exploitation is at the social rather than the technical end of the governance challenge. The virtual global task force is an example of how industry and governments can work together to handle these kinds of concerns. Similar actions on spam and phishing point to new ways of handling governance matters

These technological challenges spread out into wider society as technology becomes more pervasive. The permeability of national boundaries leads to challenges on the tax base for transactions, jurisdictional issues in law and the governance of global corporations.

The invention of the limited liability company was one of the great innovations of the industrial society. We need an innovation of this impact to help us learn new governance models for the knowledge society.

Survey home
What we found
Survey responses
RSS feed
Anjana Ahuja
Michael Baum
Peter Cochrane
Richard Feachem
Frank Furedi
Michio Kaku
Ken MacLeod
Jonathan Meades
Munira Mirza
Matthew Parris
Ingo Potrykus
Roger Scruton
Ben Shneiderman
Lionel Shriver
Raymond Tallis
Peter Whittle
Josie Appleton
David Baulcombe
Claire Fox
William Higham
Paul Lauterbur
William Graeme Laver
Ken MacLeod
Fiona McEwen
Victor Stenger